Home   |    Contact Us   |    Frequently Asked Questions   |    Search   |    Site Map

The Board of Directors is comprised of County officials, persons with mental illness, family members of persons with mental illness, behavioral health advocates, businessmen and women, and other citizens. The Board of Directors oversees the operations of the AACMHA and, as the mental health authority for the county, is responsible for developing and implementing the annual Strategic Plan.  


Board News

Click here for the latest Board News, including meeting schedules, agendas, and minutes.

Current Board of Directors Members

Chief Amal Awad

     Designee:  Capt. Kenneth Arbaugh

Dr. George Arlotto, Superintendent AACPS

Dr. Pam Brown

Sara Burden

Maria Casasco

Michele Green

Michael Irwin (Vice Chair)

Nilesh Kalyanaraman, M.D., Health Officer

     Designee:  Sandy O'Neill

Lynn Krause (Chairman)

Michael Maher

Kathy Miller

Oscar Morgan

Livia Pazourek

Sheryl Sparer

Michele Staisloff

Ryan Voegtlin

Louis Zagarino (on temporary leave)

Janet Owens, Board Member Emeritus

Frank Sullivan, Executive Director Emeritus

Required Members

1. Health Officer (Ex-Officio)
2. Superintendent of State Hospital
3. Mental Health Professional
4. Anne Arundel Co. Gov't Employee
5. Community Rehabilitation Program
6. Consumer
7. Consumer
8. Family Member
9. Family Member
10. Lawyer
11. County Resident
12. County Resident
13. County Resident
14. County Resident – Provider OK
15. County Resident at Large
16. Law Enforcement/County Gov’t

For more information contact:

Karen Ancarrow-Rice, Chief Operating Officer


Suicide Prevention Resources 

Hotlines for families and youth

Call 911 for immediate assistance in any emergency

24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Maryland Youth Crisis Hotline
24 hours a day, 7 days a week

2-1-1 Maryland
Dial 2-1-1, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Anne Arundel County Veteran's Service Phone Line
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM, Monday-Friday

National Suicide Prevention Hotlines

1-800-SUICIDE (784-2433)

1-800-273-TALK (8255)

Anne Arundel County Public Schools Student Safety Hotline
24 hours a day, 7 days a week

SAMHSA Disaster Distress Helpline
Text: "TalkWithUs" to 66746

Physician Support Line
Monday – Friday: 8AM - 3AM ET
Saturday – Sunday: 8AM - 3AM ET

Anne Arundel County Department of Health's Gun Violence Intervention TeamĀ  (GVIT) Suicide Prevention Toolkit

More Information 




Employment Opportunities

Contact Us



Children and Adolescents



Minority Outreach

People with Disabilities


©Anne Arundel County Mental Health Agency Inc - 1 Truman Parkway, Suite 101, Annapolis MD 21401 - P 410.222.7858 F 410.222.7881 info@aamentalhealth.org